Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
🎧: Good horny v. bad horny w/ Allison P Davis
0:00
-1:02:33

🎧: Good horny v. bad horny w/ Allison P Davis

You’re receiving my Tuesday podcast because you’re a paying subscriber of Maybe Baby. Thank you! To listen in your preferred app, click “Listen in podcast app.” Then it should automatically populate there every week.

Hey,

This week I invited Allison P. Davis onto the podcast to talk about horniness! It would be really wild if I chose that topic arbitrarily but I didn’t: Allison is writing a book right now about horniness (it’s called, if you can imagine, Horny) and my last newsletter was all about anticipation, which is basically existential horniness. We found some much to talk about in the liminal space between these two things. The nature of desire, the upsides and downsides of centering your life around it, etc.

You might know Allison for her popular work at New York Magazine, like The Karen Next Door or her profiles of Mariah Carey or Lena Dunham. Or maybe you know her from Twitter or IG @babymeatballs. If you don’t know her I’m glad you’re here. You should fill out her horny survey!

Some links to things we mention:
Esther Perell’s Mating in Captivity
Ghost of a Good Thing” by Dashboard Confessional (obviously)
Do What You Love by Miya Tokumitsu

Thanks for listening,
Haley

P.S. This is a weird post-script I’m adding at 11pm on Monday but the news of another mass shooting tonight is almost beyond comprehension. A lot of my newsletter/podcast touches on how broken this country is but it’s still jarring to be faced with it in increasingly fucked up ways so often. I don’t even know what to say at this point except I hope we can manage to pull through this dark era. Anyway, I know tragedies are happening everywhere all the time, but I’m really sorry to anyone who felt at all alienated by the optimism of my pre-planned newsletter and podcast for this past week. I hope it’s served as some kind of levity for some, if nothing else. Hang in there (dumb thing to say, there’s nothing to say!). 

This month a portion of subscriber proceeds will be redistributed to GlobalGiving Coronavirus Relief Fund, a non-profit focused on equitable vaccine distribution and getting resources to those made especially vulnerable by the pandemic. 

Give me feedback • Subscribe • Request a free subscription • Ask Dear Baby a question

Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
The Maybe Baby podcast is a mixed bag of interviews, advice, and unfiltered thoughts on the topics of culture, politics, the internet, and being alive. It's a supplement to my weekly written newsletter. New episodes every Tuesday.