Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
🎧: How to be sad w/ Nora Taylor
23
0:00
-1:23:14

🎧: How to be sad w/ Nora Taylor

23

You’re receiving my Tuesday podcast because you’re a paying subscriber of Maybe Baby. Thank you! To listen in your preferred app, click “Listen in podcast app.” Then it should automatically populate there every week.

Good morning!

Today I brought on my favorite sad girl, Nora Taylor, to discuss melancholy, sadness, and depression, as explored in my last newsletter, #32: Stimulants. But it’s also fun! Nora is an editor at Clever for Architectural Digest. We met at Man Repeller (where she wrote about things like Sauce Men, the Caesar haircut, and Tom Hanks) and initially bonded over our love of Phoebe Bridgers (yes…that’s me and Avi coving “Smoke Signals” for today’s intro song…lol!). Nora is a strange bird whom I truly cherish and I’m livid that I forgot to ask her about her dream of being a mailwoman. Here we are just before our “writers retreat” upstate in 2018—a very special story we save for the end:

Some links to things we mention:

-“Look at My Beautiful Fucking Hands,” by Nora herself
-In Defense of Saccharin(e), by Leslie Jamison, an incredible essay that’s unfortunately not online but is part of her collection, The Empathy Exams, which I highly recommend
-“Finding Quietness in a Loud World,” by Harmony Holiday for Frieze
-“3 Older Women on What Actually Gets Better With Age,” by Nora
-
ASMR Massage With Phoebe Bridgers by It’sBlitzzz
-“Deliverance” by Yanni

Thanks for listening!
Haley

(is signing a newsletter like signing a text?)

Leave a comment

This month a portion of subscriber proceeds will be redistributed to Palante Harlem Inc, a New York-based nonprofit working to reduce poverty, end tenant exploitation, and advocate for safe housing in Harlem.

Subscribe • Request a free subscription • Ask Dear Baby a question • Gift a subscription

23 Comments
Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
The Maybe Baby podcast is a mixed bag of interviews, advice, and unfiltered thoughts on the topics of culture, politics, the internet, and being alive. It's a supplement to my weekly written newsletter. New episodes every Tuesday.