Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
🎧: "Good taste" versus "on trend" w/ Connie Wang
0:00
-1:00:36

🎧: "Good taste" versus "on trend" w/ Connie Wang

You’re receiving my Tuesday podcast because you’re a paying subscriber of Maybe Baby. Thank you! To listen in your preferred app, click “Listen in podcast app.” Then it should automatically populate there every week.

Hey!

This week I brought on my friend Connie Wang, executive editor of Refinery29, to talk about consumerism and the pathologies we develop around what we buy. Connie is a cultural commentator who has written about style for years, and I happen to love her taste, so I was curious to get her perspective this week (after my last newsletter #50 on beautiful dining chairs). We confront questions like: What’s the difference between having good taste and being on trend? Is it okay to feel defined by your things? Is it possible to vote with your wallet? What does it actually mean to take care of yourself? Et cetera. Here’s Connie picking up my call:

I’ve always been a nester and feel deeply impacted by my physical surroundings (whether in the form of my home or my clothes), and I know many of you probably feel the same. This discussion isn’t meant to undermine the validity of that, but rather unpack how we metabolize and express those needs in the modern world, and when they get overshadowed by other forces.

Some links to things we mention:
-Connie’s RIP to Opening Ceremony
-Connie’s piece about Asian representation
-adrienne maree brown on Pleasure Activism

Thanks for listening!
Haley

This month a portion of subscriber proceeds will be redistributed to CAAV, an organization working to build grassroots community power across diverse poor and working class Asian immigrant and refugee communities in New York City.

Give me feedback • Subscribe • Request a free subscription • Ask Dear Baby a question

Maybe Baby
Maybe Baby
The Maybe Baby podcast is a mixed bag of interviews, advice, and unfiltered thoughts on the topics of culture, politics, the internet, and being alive. It's a supplement to my weekly written newsletter. New episodes every Tuesday.